The Dresden Files Book Order and Guide

Author Jim Butcher’s series The Dresden Files is one of the most entertaining comtemporary fantasy books you will come across. It folows Harry Dresden, a wizard, as he tackles supernatural forces in Chicago. With a lot of books in the series, we decided to make a book order and gude for The Dresden Files

The Dresden Files Book Order and Guide
The Dresden Files Book Order and Guide

If this is your first time coming across Jim Butcher’s series then you are in for a lot of reading. With 17 books in the series and a bunch of short stories, there are a lot of books to read. The book series combines elements of fantasy and mystery as Harry Dresden is a professional wizard that plays detective in Chicago. Magic exists but few people believe in it and pretend it doesn’t exist when it does interfere with their lives.

The Dresden Book Order and Guide

  1. Storm Front
  2. Fool Moon
  3. Grave Peril
  4. Summer Knight
  5. Death Masks
  6. Blood Rites
  7. Dead Beat
  8. Proven Guilty
  9. White Night
  10. Small Favor
  11. Turn Coat
  12. Changes
  13. Ghost Story
  14. Cold Days
  15. Skin Game
  16. Peace Talks
  17. Battle Ground

Storm Front

Storm Front The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher
Storm Front

Harry Dresden is a professional wizard in the city of Chicago. He deals with magic and the police come to him to help in cases that may be supernatural. Dresden is hired by Monica Sells to find her husband Victor Sells who has been practicing magic. Later in the day, Harry receives a call from Lieutenant Karrin Murphy, director of the Special Investigations (SI) Unit of the Chicago Police Department. She wants his help on a recent murder.  

Murphy shows Harry the crime scene and Dresden discovers that the murders were committed using magic. He deducts that only a powerful wizard could have done this. That makes Harry worry as he fears that the White Council would suspect him. He isn’t in their good graces as it is and needs to play it safe or they will intervene.   To find the killer, Harry follows some clues and that leads him to a vampire’s den. His safety is not guaranteed. Who is the murderer and can Harry find them before they get him? And can he stop a wizard this powerful? 

To Read More, Click Here

Fool Moon

The Dresden Files Book 2 Fool Moon
Fool Moon

Harry Dresden is struggling since Storm Front and is barely getting by. Karrin Murphy doesn’t trust Harry as she used to and he’s no longer being consulted by the police. But she needs his help and takes him to the scene of the crime. From the clues left behind, Dresden is sure that the killers were werewolves.  

The FBI is handling this case and want Murphy and Harry out of their way. But one of the detectives tells Dresden about a shady group which ends up being a gang of werewolves. Harry has to find out who the killer is and what they are plotting before it is too late.  

To Read More, Click Here


That is all for the Dresden Files book order and guide. As I read more books in the series, I will update this list so be on the lookout and check back for updates!

Follow us on Instagram and Facebook 

Leave a Reply